Snow Queen

As I mentioned in one of my previous posts I had the honor to second shoot the Nutcracker Ballet dress rehearsals in December.  Tonight you will see one of my favorite images from that shoot.

I saw this quote today: In a dancer, there is a reverence for such forgotten things as the miracle of the small beautiful bones and their delicate strength. –Martha Graham

The image below from the Nutcracker Snow Queen Dance signifies the miracle mentioned in the above quote.  I love this image because it symbolizes reverence.  As a photographer, I love light.  The dancers are looking up to the light in reverence; awe and respect.  The light in this image, to me, represents something great, something out of reach, something above all else – possibly heaven.  Something that deserves respect, just as the dancers do.

Reverence

 

2 thoughts on “Snow Queen

  1. Hi Robyn,

    I am reading your blog, and it feels like my life story too. It’s so good to reconnect with you, cousin! I talked to Pearl Fink White, my mother. She said grandma had 2 half brothers. Donny Reu still lives in Ia. Thank you for finding our way “home.”

Leave a Reply

