Quiet Waters

As I mentioned in one of my previous posts, I set out to accomplish the task of reading the Bible this year.   So far, I have managed to stay on track and dedicate 15 minutes of my day to accomplish this.  I have to say I am enjoying it.  I sit with my cup of coffee and read.  It is fun to reacquaint myself with the stories I learned as a child in school, Sunday school, or through stories my parents or grandparents read to me.  A couple of days ago one of the passages on the daily list was Psalm 23.  This passage has special meaning to me because it was my confirmation verse.  Ironically 23 years later it would be a passage my father read every day to give him comfort while fighting cancer.  Two years later, strictly by chance, this was the passage read at my daughter’s Christening.  I’m sure many of you can relate when I say that there are certain times in life when things really pull on your heart strings.  My daughter is named after my father, Lowell.  To make the name more feminine we added an “e” to the end to make it Lowelle (pronounced low-elle).  You can imagine the tears that flowed when the pastor announced that the reading was going to be Psalm 23 on her special day.  Then, as though I had requested a sign to say that my father was somehow present for the Christening, Gracie’s name was typed incorrectly as Grace Lowell, not Lowelle in the bulletin.  My sister calls moments like this “God Winks.”  I hope you all get to experience one of these moments some day if you haven’t already.  Since my father’s death my sisters and I have each experienced several of these moments – most often when we are all together for a special event, like Gracie’s Christening and her first birthday.  These are times that not only remind us of my father but, remind us that when you love someone, they are never completely gone from your life.

The significance of this Psalm didn’t end at Gracie’s Christening.  This was again the Psalm chosen when my sister-in-law passed away 18 months ago.  Cathy loved to be outdoors in the winter, snow shoeing or cross country skiing while her dogs ran beside her.  As I was reminiscing about all of the aforementioned moments the image below came to my mind as I read verse 2 of the Psalm: “He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters.” Because it is winter, there is obviously no visible green grass, but certainly the water appears to be quiet.  It was scenes like this one that lured me to fall in love with the place I live.

Quiet Waters

Leave a Reply

