Just Being a Kid

Isn’t it grand to “just be a kid” sometimes?  I’m guessing that the majority of my readers are either in the throws of raising busy, active children, or have done so.  With all of the scheduled activities our children have with school, extracurricular activities and sports, many children don’t have much time left to “just be kids.”  I’m noticing this more and more with all of the sports leagues, etc.  Don’t get me wrong, I love organized sports, and think they are very important in the overall development and maturation of children, but recently I’ve witnessed a lot more competition and pressure being placed on children by their parents. Ok, I know, sometimes we as parents need to push our kids into activities, but really, do we need to push them into situations/leagues/teams they aren’t quite ready for, either with their skill sets, or maturity?  Do they really need to practice several hours a day for an organized sports team at the age of 10?  Are we all really raising professional athletes, or guaranteeing college scholarships by pushing our kids in one direction or another?

I find it very interesting how generations change.  When my sisters and I were growing up, we didn’t begin sports until 5th grade.   Even then, we spent the majority of our time, when not in school or on the court/field, running around or riding our bikes around town with other kids.   We didn’t play sports on Sundays and we spent a lot of time “just being kids”.

Today’s image is a candid of a “kid – just being a kid”.  Look at the smile, and then, next time you have a choice in what your kids are going to do for a day – encourage them to “just be a kid” and enjoy life.

Climbing a Tree in a Game of Tag

2 thoughts on “Just Being a Kid

  1. As a kid from the start of the “millennium generation”, I’m a little bitter about the practice of pushing kids into sports.

    I know my mom meant well but I enjoyed the sports I chose to join much more than the ones I had to join with my mom’s “one sport a year” rule. I often wonder if being pushed too hard into sports is a catalyst for rebellion and a couch-potato-lifestyle. I know when I was in middle school I hated my mom seeing me exercise (even just taking a walk) because I felt so darn rebellious about it.

    I can’t blame my own poor choices on her but it sure does makes me curious for when I raise my own children!

    I remember my sociology 101 class had a section about how parents aren’t letting their younger children engage in free play but instead pushing them into sports teams where the strict rules keep them from gaining the important decision making skills that free-play teaches.

    Anyway, I love reading your blog and seeing your photography! I caught myself looking at photos of my cousins at Grandma and Grandpa Graham’s and thinking, “HEY! Those are MY grandparents!” It’s definitely a bit of a funny shock seeing the next generation of grand kids with them when it was just Kirsten, Nick, and I for so long!

  2. so true, I remember as a child playing outside all day, climbing trees, running and taking a bath at night and go to bed so tired from all the fresh air, good times

Leave a Reply

