A busy time….

It has been way too long since my last blog post.  I apologize.  I am not sure where time goes.  Some times I think there has been a time warp and I’ve been left in a place to muddle through paper work and chaos alone.  Of course the Christmas season brings additional hustle and bustle, and as a photographer, many portrait sittings and Christmas card orders – all of which I enjoyed and am very thankful for!

As I was working to catch up and accomplish everything on my ever lengthening “to do” list earlier in the week I received an email from a daily devotional I subscribe to.  The Bible passage read:

“I’ve tried everything and nothing helps.  I’m at the end of my rope.  Is there no one who can do anything for me?  Isn’t that the real question?” Romans 7:24.  I’m guessing the majority of my readers have felt this way a time or two. Am I right?

Of course this passage was written many, many years ago by Paul when he was trying to convince people to follow Jesus Christ.  I cannot imagine the challenges he faced and the desperation he felt.  I know that every day life sometimes gets the best of me; kids who don’t listen, broken glass, spilt milk, more importantly the death of a friend or loved one, a call about another person suffering from cancer or another terrifying disease, the list goes on and on.  When I read this passage I thought to myself, “how appropriate that at Christmas time this message would come as a reminder to slow down and realize who is there to help me, to be with me, to see me through.”  It reminded me of why I say Merry Christmas, and why I won’t take the short cut to write X-Mas and leave Christ out of the holiday season.

As I know not all of my readers are Christian, and several are Jewish, I must not send well wishes only to those who celebrate the miracle of Christmas joy, but also wish you a happy Hanukkah.    Hanukkah too is the celebration of a gift from God – enough oil to keep the lamp lit for 8 days.  Who cannot find joy in miracles, no matter the orientation of faith?

So, with that, I leave you with the blessing of light, which led the shepherds to Jesus’ cradle, and long before was a miracle of celebration. I wish you all a joyous holiday season and pray for health, happiness, peace and love for all.

Follow the stars

Merry and Bright

And to all a Good Night

 

 

4 thoughts on “A busy time….

  1. Love it, my friend. Selfishly I love to see you just a tad-bit overwhelmed because you are my totally organized, “with-it” friend (shhh….don’t burst my bubble!) 🙂 It’s nice to see that you’re human, too and that we all get overwhelmed from time to time. I love that you brought it back to faith – a great reminder. You made me take pause for a moment to take a break from wrapping & racing around to focus on the reason for our celebrating. Thanks, Robyn. As usual your photos are wonderful….you know my reason for loving your work – you truly capture emotions…you have a gift and I’m so glad you’re using it!! xoxo

Leave a Reply

