Unless

“Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot,
Nothing is going to get better. It’s not.” ― Dr. SeussThe Lorax

While John and the boys were camping this weekend, Gracie and I took advantage of the quiet time and rented a movie.  It was her treat to choose dinner, pizza of course, and the movie.  She chose “The Lorax”.  Can I tell you that I enjoyed the movie very much?  I really did.  The quote above was shown on the screen towards the end of the movie, and of course can be found in the book by none other than Dr. Seuss.   Gracie enjoyed the movie so much she asked the boys to watch it with her when they arrived home.  It was a hit all the way around.  And the quote above, what more can I say about it?  I love it.  Dr. Seuss certainly had a way with words and his quotes have so much meaning, as well as application for all generations.

As I was contemplating which image to post this evening this tree came to mind in light of having watched “The Lorax”.  We were in Hilton Head Island, South Carolina recently and the trees with the Spanish Moss hanging from them reminded me of Dr. Seuss trees.  With that said, I thought it appropriate to post an image of one of the  trees with Spanish Moss.

It is not an award winning image by any many means, but I liked the contrast in the lighting and it reminded me of Dr. Seuss.

7 thoughts on “Unless

  1. I LOVE this image! And the quote! It’s a great shot, VERY Seussical in my opinion!!! Turns out my cousin knew Dr. Seuss. He was from La Jolla, CA, where she lives and works as a graphic artist. Her name is Leslie Simon, and her company is called: Scribbles, Ink. (Isn’t that cute? Dr. Seuss would have like that name too!).

    Great work again! 🙂 Lori

    • Thanks Lori!!! I love the name of your cousin’s company – so cool, especially for a graphic artist. I’m a little jealous she was able to meet Dr. Seuss!

  2. Hey, the first thing I thought when I saw this image was: That looks like a Truffala tree, from The Lorax. It looks like I’m not the only one. I love this photo (even if it isn’t “award winning.”) Green Eggs and Ham was still my favourite though. I once read it 26 times in grade 2 (Why?! I don’t know…)

    • Thanks! You sound like my son! We’ve read “Green Eggs and Ham” so many times!!! There were nights when he’d want me to read it over and over and my eyes couldn’t even focus any more. Enjoy the night!

      • In retrospect, I don’t know why I liked it so much. Just the line “I do not like them Sam I Am, I do no like Green Eggs and Ham!” I read it once years later and thought, “why didn’t I choose a book with more of a story and a moral, like The Grinch, or The Lorax?” Oh well.

Leave a Reply

