Solitary Confinement

Solitary Confinement

Punishment

For

Crimes Committed

Time

For

Consideration

Moments

Of

Reflection

Dreams

Of

A Different Path Chosen

Remorse

For

 Wrongs Committed

Regret

Anger

Humility

Hope

Repentance

For

Pain Engendered

Faith

That

Grace Will Be Given

copyright Robyn Graham

Solitary Confinement

Solitary Confinement

“…God opposes the proud but gives grace to the humble. Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time.  Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.” – 1 Peter 5:5-7

35 thoughts on “Solitary Confinement

    • Hi Lori. On this particular trip I did not take my kids. I think my boys would have found it very interesting – the history, etc. It might have been too much for my daughter. Not in a frightening way though. It really wasn’t scary at all. I have heard it is haunted though and they put on quite a haunted house production in October of each year. I’ve never been – that would be too frightening for me!!!

    • Hey Charlie! Thanks for commenting! This is certainly an image that stimulates emotion. I have others from this trip that I’ll share soon, that aren’t quite as striking in terms of the “message” they convey. I hope you like them as we’ll! Have a great week! R-

  1. This is a powerful image….haunting in the very least….I’ve looked at this 3 times prior to posting this comment and every time I am more emotionally disturbed….and intrigued…..an amazing image reflecting the human condition…..

    • It is certainly thought provoking Greg. The concept of solitary confinement is so controversial and emotionally fueled. Just touring the penitentiary was a bit overwhelming as my thoughts went to the people who had inhabited the cells. Have a great night! Robyn

  2. Now I am wishing I brought a interchangeable lens camera with me instead of a fixed lens camera on my visit here 🙂 Your images are beautiful.

    • Thanks so much Joe! It is a great place to experiment! If you ever visit there again let me know and I’ll try to meet you there! Such a cool place and yes, you really do need to be able to play with focal length while there! If shooting in the evening at the Penn you also need a tripod! Take good care!

  3. Pingback: Isolation | Monochromia

Leave a Reply

