Weeping Sunflower

 

Tears Fall

Tears Fall

I try to stand to tall

But it happens not at all.

The tears begin to fall

I cover my eyes

The shame swells up inside.

As it overflows

My heart knows,

I’ve failed him,

I’ve failed them.

Through the angst,

The anxiety

Influenced always by society

To be an appearance of notoriety.

The loathing of self

Leads to impropriety.

For instead of the love that’s there for him,

For them,

The words and actions

Appear to condemn.

Causing pain

When I mean to encourage,

I just can’t explain

Why my thoughts can’t abstain

From making their way into

Words of disdain.

If I understood me,

If I could define me,

Would it be possible to be free?

Would they begin to believe

That my love does exist?

Or is it too late?

Has my opportunity to love been missed

Because of words resembling hate?

No, they would say,

It is never too late,

For we love you

And will never hesitate

To take you in,

To hold  you close,

For we will always love you most.

copyright Robyn Graham

Weeping SunflowerWeeping Sunflower

1 Corinthians 13:4-7: Love is patient, love is kind….It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. 

I chose two different backgrounds (one dark and one light) and two different editing styles for this post, edits were both custom edits in Topaz Labs.  I am absolutely in love with Topaz Labs Black and White Suite.  I would love to know which image you like best, and which you feel best accompanies the poem.  I wonder if your thoughts are the same as mine.

35 thoughts on “Weeping Sunflower

  1. Beautiful images, Robyn! I think my favourite is the upper one, for two reasons. First, the upper one has less strident, softer highlights – they’re off white. Then second, whereas the lower one has a distinctly deeper depth of field, the left hand side petals in the upper one are out of focus – and along with the softer whites (creams, maybe), this effect works very well. Adrian

  2. Thank you for sharing and expressing yourself, Robyn. Part of our humanity is the ability to reflect, to feel self-doubt, but also to feel and express boundless love. May that love wrap you in its arms and comfort you, and comfort all of us.
    I like the depth of field of the first image.
    And the question beginning with “If I understood me” is a perplexing one… an understanding that improves with time. And that freedom you mention is right there all the time. It’s just so difficult sometimes realize it.
    Love to you.

  3. For me, Robyn the words “…my thoughts can’t abstain ~ From making their way into ~ Words of disdain…” is perfectly portrayed in the weeping sunflower photographs.
    Very well done.

  4. poetry and photography…wow, you are so talented! I like the second one better as I can it to the ‘sadness’ feeling I had after reading the poem…..especially the part ‘The loathing of self’ and ‘ if I could define me…’

  5. The first is my favorite … I can not claim to be very knowledgable about poetry, so I am not the one to ask. I just know that it made me sad, and made me want to impart that we all say things from passion sometimes, and true love, whatever kind of love, forgives.

    • Hey Laurie! You are so right….love and forgiveness go hand in hand…the subject of the poem realizes this in the last stanza…Love is indeed a beautiful thing! Have a wonderful weekend! Robyn

  6. Hi, Robyn, The subtle sepia one has a wonderful, melancholy mood, but I’m more drawn to the frank contrasts in the un-tinted one. I also like your tight crop. Very dramatic and effective!

    • Thanks so much! I am still torn as to which is my favorite of the two, but I, like you am drawn to the more dramatic effect of the tightly cropped image with more contrast. Thanks so much for taking time to comment! I appreciate it! Have a terrific week! Robyn

Leave a Reply

