Wonder of Light

Wonder of Light

Wonder of Light

I dream of days gone by

As warm, golden light gently kisses my hair.

I move, cautiously,

Along the rocky bed of the stream.

The crisp water sweetly caresses my skin

While I gaze through

Reflections of trees and clouds

Seeking a treasure similar to those

Found on warm summer afternoons

Of my youth.

At once my eyes come to a glistening stone.

I bend to grasp it.

It slips through my fingers.

The water swirls around my slender wrist as

 I reach for the smooth stone

 floating to its resting place.

I once again capture my prey.

I bring it up to the glow of the mid-day sun.

It shimmers as though it was

Inlaid with diamonds.

A smile cannot be contained

As the days hunt produces a

Treasure without measure.

copyright Robyn Graham

32 thoughts on “Wonder of Light

  1. Treasure without measure, for sure!
    Each phrase of the description was perfect with the picture, Robyn, and as I read I was again a girl at the lake, except I was watching two small turtles swimming between the rocks at my feet. What a memory you brought back to life!

    • Thank you Marylin! So funny that you mention the little turtles. As I was writing I was thinking about the crawfish we use to catch. Oh to be young again! Have a fabulous evening!

Leave a Reply

