Colorful Oil and Water

I have recently seen several blog posts that inspired me to play around with oil, water, light and color.  So, a few days ago, that is just what I did.  Below you will find the outcomes of my artistic experiment.  But first, I want to acknowledge the women who inspired me to attempt this moment of creative play.

Rachel Cohen at RCNaturephotos

Beverly Everson at Beverly Everson Photography

Edith Levy at Edith Levy Photography

The links are posted in the order in which I saw the photographs of inspiration.

My creations using oil, water, color and light:

Pastel Oil in Water (Antique Buttons, Oil, Water, and Light)

Pastel Oil in Water
(Antique Buttons, Oil, Water, and Light)

Unity (Rose Petals, Oil, Water, and Light)

Unity
(Rose Petals, Oil, Water, and Light)

Unity II (Rose Petals, Oil, Water, and Light)

Unity II
(Rose Petals, Oil, Water, and Light)

Drama (Antique Marbles, Oil, Water, and Light)

Drama
(Antique Marbles, Oil, Water, and Light)

Anyone who knows me knows that I am not very patient.  Impatience is certainly a fault I am trying to overcome and this was a great exercise for that.  When I tell you I spent quite a bit of time trying to create a unique piece of art I am not exaggerating.  It looked like a bomb went off in my work area.  Oil, dishes of water, a vase of flowers, jars of marbles and buttons, towels, etc., etc. all over the place.  But, it was fun!

The other brilliant photographers that I introduced above may have additional advice for this type of project, but here are a few things I learned:

  • Need a small glass dish without a logo on the bottom
  • Need a slightly larger dish to place the subject in just under the dish of oil and water
  • Need just a little bit of water
  • Need just a bit of oil
  • Oil will settle into a big circle so you need something to break the large bubble apart and/or shape it – I used a rose stem
  • When breaking up larger bubbles, little bubbles form and you must be patient for them to dissolve or merge into a larger bubble of oil
  • Textured items do not work as well
  • Use a shallow depth of field
  • Have great light
  • Equipment I used: Nikon D800, Nikon 60mm 2.8 macro

I can’t wait to hear which image is your favorite.  They are all unique because of the subjects under the oil and water….of course I had to use a flower! 😉

37 thoughts on “Colorful Oil and Water

  1. Hi Robyn, it’s amazing to me that you are equally talented at so many types of photography. You are blessed! I think they’re all wonderful but I especially enjoy the colors & composition of the bubble shapes in “Drama.”

    • Karen, Thank you so very much for your kind words! You gave me such an inspiring compliment! I consider myself blessed – in so many ways! I have a lot to be thankful for! Have a great weekend! XO Robyn

  2. Very nice results. Yes, patience is certainly a part of the formula. This week on Monday, 24 February, I posted a similar photo shoot that I’ve wanted to do for months. Bubbles were on my mind. Maybe it’s the severe weather that has kept us inside in the East. Here is my post: http://lensandpensbysally.wordpress.com/2014/02/24/phoneography-challenge-your-phone-as-your-lens-food-photography-bubbles-series-one-oil-and-water/ It the first of a series. Hope to see more of yours too.

  3. They are all really great and inspiring. “Drama” is definitely my favourite 🙂 Have to put this on my try-out-list!

  4. Good for you, Robyn – and especially so for giving your working method in such detail – a very useful source of reference.

    My favourite without a doubt is Unity ll, because of the very striking red cross, which is partially intersected by the equally striking transparent circle, which magnifies the parts of the cross that it lies over; and this circle also has its own striking inner circle, which is reflecting some of the red colour. And the white looks like ice cream! All in all a very striking shot. Adrian 🙂

  5. These are fantastic, Robyn.
    I love that fact that when this is done, there are rarely two that are the same or even similar for that matter.
    My favorite one is the last one.
    I hope you’ve had a wonderful weekend!

  6. I’m so impressed that you were not only inspired, but followed up on it! Good for you! I have to tell you that I enjoyed reading the description of your work space.
    My fave? I’m drawn to the variety of color in Drama.

    • Thanks for taking time to comment Laurie! Glad to know you enjoyed the post…You are with the majority of those who commented – Drama seems to have won the favorite award! Best, Robyn

    • You are with the majority Jennifer. So many liked the “Drama” the best. Thanks so much for taking time to comment! Enjoy your Spring break! Blessings, Robyn

Leave a Reply

