Which do You Prefer?

Spring has Sprung III

Straight Out Of Camera (SOOC)

SS 1/60, f 4.0, ISO 1250

 

Spring has Sprung III

Same image with a texture layer added.

It is Spring, so life has been so very busy.  Lacrosse and various activities with the kids take over my time and as a result I have very little time to focus on my blog or visit other blogs.  Please excuse my absence and know I’ll be back in the swing of things in a couple of months.  In the meantime, I would love to hear from you as to which image, of the two above, you prefer?

72 thoughts on “Which do You Prefer?

    • Interesting Elizabeth! You are definitely in the minority, but there is something that I really like about the second one too! Thanks for taking time to comment!

  1. For me, it’s definitely the top photograph. The more vivid red says that if the top of the stems aren’t blooming yet, they will be soon. The first photograph just “speaks to me” in stronger words.

  2. Ah I love both. I love the beautiful crystal clear straight out of the camera but I adore the desaturated colors with the texture. Oh, so happy I don’t have to pick a favourite! I just couldn’t. Xo

  3. Take the time off, my friend, take the time off. Blogging can actually be quite time consuming and quite hard work too, and you’ve the other things in your life, not least your family, to think about >>> do it, and enjoy it! I look forward to seeing you back in due course!

    I can’t be of much help with the two images. I think they both have worthwhile attributes – but to me the big highlight bottom left is too bright, it keeps dragging my attention away from the stems and the smaller, less blazing highlight adjacent to them. I quite like the addition of the texture layer – but I can almost see a case for cropping the left margin of the frame in to immediately right of that blazing lower left highlight. Hope that’s useful!

    Have a good break! Adrian

    • Oh Adrian thank you so very much for taking time to thoughtfully consider the images and for commenting. I always appreciate and treasure your comments and opinions. Have a wonderful weekend!

  4. I like them both. They seem so different to me, almost as if they don’t come from the same image. I like the vividness of the first, and the faded, aged appearance of the second.

  5. So many fabulous comments about the images, thank you all! There was an overwhelming response in favor of the first, more vibrant image. I truly appreciate the fact that so many people took the time to comment and share their opinions! Blessings, Robyn

  6. I prefer the first but, more than the detail of either one, I like the concept of a picture of flowers without the flowers. It really brings out the beauty of the stems and the glass, which usually get overlooked. Really nice photographs!

Leave a Reply

