To Mystery Land

 

To Mystery Land

To Mystery Land

SS 1/60 f5.6 ISO 500

To Mystery Land

by Kate Greenaway

“Oh, dear, how will it end?

Peggy and Susie how naughty

you are.

You little know where you are,

Going so far, and so high,

Nearly up to the sky.

Perhaps it’s a Giant who

lives there,

And perhaps it’s a lovely

Princess.

But you very well know

You’ve no business to go;

You’ll get yourselves into a mess.

Oh, dear, I’m sure it is true;

Whatever on earth can it matter

to you?

For you know it –oh, fie —

that it’s naughty to pry

Into other’s affairs —

Into other folks houses to go,

Where you  know

You’re not asked.

So you’d better come back

While there’s time, it is plain.

Go home–and be never

So naughty again. “

I love antique books, I love poetry, I love flowers, and I especially love photography.  Here you have four of my (many) favorite things rolled into one.

To create a vintage feel to the image of Calla Lilies resting on the antique book, “Marigold Garden” by Kate Greenaway, I added a layer of haze in Photoshop CS5.

 

37 thoughts on “To Mystery Land

    • Yes Skye, we have much in common! You are such an inspiration! I hope to touch people’s lives and hearts the way you do! Have a wonderful day!

  1. Books, poetry, flowers and photography, I think they all fit together, along with music. One day I’ll get back to writing poetry, I’ve been silent since end of last year. A very lovely photo.

    • Thank you Robert! I have been experiencing the same withdraw from writing, Robert. I must get back into it. Spring is such a busy time for me that I find it challenging to focus. Hopefully the summer will bring much inspiration. Best, Robyn

  2. You did combine your love of “antique books, I love poetry, I love flowers, and especially photography” in one beautiful post, Robyn, and it’s stunning. The red calla lilies are a perfect choice.
    Well done.

  3. Robyn, what a fabulous four you have shared with us. I love these four treasures too. The haze layer really gives the picture a soft vintage glow–well done.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

  4. The calla is one of my very favorite flowers. 🙂
    This is a stunning composition, Robyn, and your edit for it could not be more perfect.
    Have a wonderful weekend, my friend.

    • One of my favorites too Lisa! I love their lines and gracefulness. Thank you so much for your kind words. I truly appreciate them! You have a fabulous weekend too! Hugs, Robyn

  5. This is truly beautiful Robyn.
    I love the beautiful poetry with the post, but most of all I really enjoy your use of flowers and books.
    Such a wonderful combination and stunning dof… so appealing!

    • Thank you ever so much Robyn! Honestly, I think DOF is my favorite photographic tool! I love to use it to tell a story or create mood. Thanks for noticing! Enjoy the weekend!

Leave a Reply

