Doylestown Art Days and Shop Sixty Five

It is with excitement that I write my post this evening.  Doylestown, in the heart of Bucks County Pennsylvania is an extraordinary community with a heavy focus on the arts.  Many artists; painters, authors, photographers, musicians, sculptors, potters, and others, have lived, or presently live in or around Doylestown.  Several artists lead by Stephanie Lisle, owner of the Bucks County Project Gallery, recently joined forces with the local business alliance and created the event “Doylestown Art Days”.  From June 5th to 8th over 60 merchants are opening their doors and giving local artists the opportunity to display their work in a unique environment.  I feel very blessed to say that I was paired with “Shop Sixty Five“.  “Shop Sixty Five” is a unique and fabulous boutique in Doylestown.  To describe it as the height of fashion is an understatement.  The staff is always eager to serve customers and help them find exactly what they are looking for and what makes them feel and look great.

I am thrilled to be displaying 6 to 8 of my fine art pieces in “Shop Sixty Five” this week and even more delighted that I had the pleasure to photograph the beautiful ladies that work in the store.  They were so fun to work with, so photogenic, and so very gracious to let me spend hours in their store photographing.  You probably won’t hear from me the rest of the week as I am busy framing and matting the portraits (17 of them) to be displayed in addition to my fine art pieces.  Wish me luck and let me know what you think of the sample of images below!  I always love to hear from you!

 

rs e RGP_6442_6389

 

 

 

rs e RGP_5867_5816 2

 

rs e RGP_6217_6165

 

 

rs e RGP_5978_5927

 

rs e RGP_6028_5977

 

 

rs e RGP_6178_6127

 

 


rs e RGP_6556_6503

 

 

 

rs e RGP_6317_6264

 

38 thoughts on “Doylestown Art Days and Shop Sixty Five

  1. Great selection of black and white portraits Robyn. I particularly like the fourth one. It is so perfectly natural, has a wonderful sense of joy and is beautifully balanced with the figure off centre. Good luck with show. Sorry I can’t be there to cheer you on 🙂

    • Thank you my friend, Susan! I am looking forward to it! Wish you could join me! You would love this little town and all of the arts! Maybe some day soon!

    • Thank you so very much Laura! That image is one of my favorites from the shoot. The girl doesn’t like to have her picture taken and wasn’t very relaxed in front of the camera, but she is sweet and beautiful and I felt that I captured her essence. It looks awesome framed! Enjoy the day!

  2. Robyn, you have the master’s touch! These are portraits, beautifully captured images of full personalities! Wonderful job! Congratulations! Shop 65 is so lucky to be paired with you.
    Have a delightful time, and then tell us all about it.

  3. Robyn! Your passion and excitement is contagious….it makes me want to be there and experience the Art Days event. Your photographs are fabulous. Good luck and enjoy!! xo

  4. I love photography. I can sit in a bookstore and look through a photography the whole afternoon and imagine the stories. Often I will use a photograph or a painting as a prompt for a story. It might be an empty house. I imagine the people who once lived there. Or it can be a person. I then give that person a story. One of my favorite phototography books is called The Oxford Project (http://welcomebooks.com/oxfordproject/). In the early ’80s, the photographer asked people in his town to come in and allow him to take their photograph. Eventually everybody in the town came in and had themselves photographed. Twenty years later he invited them back into the studio and he took their pictures. The book has two photos of each person, one in 1984, the other in 2004. It is amazing to see the photos side by side.

Leave a Reply

