Chives

 

Chives

Chives

SS 1/80     f3.5     ISO400

Chives I

Chives I

SS 1/100     f4.5     ISO 400

“The world is full of magic things, patiently waiting for our senses to grow sharper.”  – W.B. Yeats 

I thought the above quote fit nicely with the pictures of Chives from my garden.  The blooms are magical and the scent, very sharp – an awakening of the senses.

I’ve missed all of my virtual friends the past two weeks.  As indicated in my last post I was very busy putting together an exhibit that included 18 portraits that I framed and matted myself.  I am happy to report that the exhibit was a great success and I now have framing in my repertoire of offerings when I open my studio in September.  Yes, you read that correctly!  I am opening a photography studio!  It is such a leap of faith for my future as a photographer, but I am excited for the opportunity to have a space to call “home” for my fine art work as well as a beautiful facility to do portrait and product work, and teach workshops.  My senses are certainly aroused with the planning and preparations for the studio. I am frequenting thrift shops, consignment shops, antique shops and more to find the perfect, multi-functional props and decor, and enjoying every minute of it.  I promise to share pictures of the studio and the grand-opening festivities.

In addition to the aforementioned exhibit, I hung another exhibit today.  The Bank of Princeton in Lambertville, NJ has a gallery that they open to artists for month-long exhibits.  I hung 40+ prints today with the help of my husband and daughter.  The gallery looked beautiful!  Next up is two-person exhibit at The Red Filter Gallery in Lambertville, NJ.  I just placed my order for six large (16in x 24in), black and white prints to be framed, matted and then hung in the gallery from July 8th, 2014 to September 8th, 2014.  It is an honor to be able to show my work in such a fine establishment where many incredible photographers have shared their work.  I feel like I am walking in the footsteps of a dream.

Enough of my excuses for not blogging over the past two weeks!  I look forward to catching up on what I’ve missed from all of your wonderful blogs once the school year wraps up at the end of the week.  Soon enough my children and I will be all settled into the routine of summer and I’ll be able to sit outside with the laptop, linger over a cup of coffee, and catch up on what I’ve missed.

Blessings to all!

 

 

63 thoughts on “Chives

  1. Wow you have been busy Robyn 🙂 It’s great to hear you are opening a studio and I want to wish you the best success with it. It would be fun to come down to PA. again maybe I should reserve the date of the opening so I could come down and toast to your success 🙂

  2. Big Congrats, Robyn!! Wonderful news! So looking forward to photos of you studio and exhibits. And thank you, for the inspirations, too! Infinite blessings to you and yours, and all your endeavors. ~v.

  3. Congratulations on the exhibit Robyn, very nice to hear they went well. These shots are beautiful, the sharpness of these flowers with the blur of nature in the background.

  4. Congratulations and best wishes for continued success with your studio. With all the your talent and the exposure through all of these exhibits, it seems a natural next step! I can’t wait to follow all the news here! 🙂

  5. Herbs are a delicate beauty, and then we chop them up until unrecognizable, but their beauty morphs into delicious flavor. Your photograph captures the chives complexity. Lovely! (and congratulations…take the time to savor your success)

  6. And blessings to you as well, Robyn. I LOVE the chives. Only you could capture such a wonderful close-up. Our 89-year-old neighbor has a little hot house where she grows many things, including chives. I brought her over and showed her your beautiful pictures, and she sat at my computer for the longest time, studying the pictures and smiling. She said to tell you that you’re a true artist.
    Congratulations on your exhibit successes, dear Robyn. This is exciting news, and now September will be a whole new adventure!

    • Dearest Marylin you made my day. I am imagining your sweet neighbor sitting at your computer and staring at your computer. It was so very sweet of you to share my images with her and I truly appreciate you letting me know her thoughts and kind words. Please tell her how much I appreciate her compliment and that I wish her well. Much love to you! Robyn

  7. Robyn, I’m very happy to hear about your successes – good on you! And I hope that your studio venture goes very well!

    And you have two beautiful images here, too. I like them both, but the composition of the upper one does it most for me – the positioning of the flower really fits the portrait format. and the other blooms are a little further out of focus than they are in the lower shot. Adrian

    • Thank you Lisa! There are so many blooms I’ve missed this year…time is flying by and I’ve just been too busy! Sometimes we just have to enjoy things as we see them instead of trying to capture them. Have a wonderful day!

  8. Delectably soft captures. And congratulations on the exhibition, Robyn. I’m so impressed with your practical skills as well – all fingers and thumbs here when it comes to the job of framing!

  9. Two exhibits and a studio to be opened soon, I am so happy for you Robyn! It’s always heart-warming to hear and see people following their dreams and putting lots of effort and heart into doing what they love. The photos of chives are so delicate and beautiful! 🙂

Leave a Reply

