Signs of Spring

Signs of Spring

Signs of Spring

SS 1/60 f 5.6 ISO 400

Post processing: a slight curves adjustment in Photoshop CC.

Signs of Spring was shot in diffused light in between rain showers; – April showers bring May flowers -. I used a shallow depth of field to achieve a more abstract composition. I made the shadowed areas less in focus to give a more quizzical appearance of the flower.

Can you guess what the rain drops fell on? I’ll give you a hint – they are some of the first signs of Spring on the North East Coast and provide much-needed color to dull, early Spring landscapes.

To see this image in black and white visit Monochromia, a black and white photo blog I proudly, yet humbly, contribute to every Thursday.

I’d love to hear which you prefer – the monochromatic image or the color image.

21 thoughts on “Signs of Spring

  1. Robyn, there are diffuse forms in this image, but mainly its about the gorgeous colour, and so for me, the mono version can never equal the colour version’s pull and attractiveness. Adrian

  2. Hi Robyn, how lovely to see this gorgeous yellow color on this my first visit back to your blog. I’m catching up all over WP today 🙂

  3. Both are stunning, Robyn, but the black and white has an almost lyrical, magical quality for me.
    Also, among the other pictures, the two old women statue was brilliant! I can’t even describe the effect it creates.

Leave a Reply

