Calla Lily

I recently received an email from a gentleman named Theo who works at Art Sy, a website that promotes artists and sells art.   Theo reached out to me because the site has a Robert Mapplethorpe page.  You might ask what I have to do with Robert Mapplethorpe.   Well, nothing, really, other than an appreciation for his work.  But, in the fall of 2013 I did a Calla Lilly series on the blog and quoted Robert Mapplethorpe in several of the posts.  Theo found me when doing research on Mapplethorpe.

During my correspondence with Theo he asked if I would add a link to Art Sy and the Mapplethorpe page to my original posts.  As the posts are two years old now, I thought I should just write a new post and present a couple of new black and white Calla Lily images.  These images are quite different from the images in the original series because the lilies are note pure white, but pink or purple and white.   To give you a point of reference of the original series, I am adding the links below.

Exhilarated Beauty

Trio of Modest Beauty

Magnificence of Beauty

Modesty Fortified

Calla Lily VI

Calla Lily V

Calla Lily V

Calla Lily VI

I would love to hear your thoughts on the original series as well as the new pictures.  Which is your favorite?

 

19 thoughts on “Calla Lily

  1. I love this, Robyn, especially the second picture. Our darling Siamese cat–as a kitten–was pale ivory with big gray eyes. We named her Calla Lily. She changed to dark brown with black trim as she grew older, but she was always our lovely, delicate Calla Lily.

  2. These are beautiful, Robyn.
    My favorite from the series is most definitely the second one, “Trio of Modest Beauty.”
    It was a tough choice, but I just love the composition and the tones.

  3. I love Calla Lilies, they are so pretty, they are flowering in my garden at the moment, I must take some photos before the heat of summer makes them die down. I love what you have done with yours Robyn.

    • I was trying to fill the frame and I wanted the focus to be on the graduation of the flower and the detail and lack there of with the DOF I used. I think it lends to an eternal feel but having the top edge of the lily touching the top edge of the frame – I think it works only because of the curvature of the flower and the depth of field. Thoughts?

      • Interesting. For me, having the flower touch the top of the frame seems to cut the composition in half and prevent the eye from flowing around the flower. But that’s just my point of view. Your strikes me as equally valid. 🙂

      • I can see your point of view too Frank…Sometimes tight cropping works, sometimes it doesn’t – and of course it all depends on the perspective of the viewer – it’s all subjective! Have a fabulous day!

Leave a Reply

